Book Review: The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold.

the-lovely-bones-book

The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold. A stunning novel. Moving, mesmerising, beautifully written. Chapter One: ‘My name was Salmon, like the fish, first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.’ I was entrapped immediately into the questionsof who, where, why and how? I had to continue to read, chapter after chapter, hard to put down, as I read only at night to wind down from a long day at work, I would read until I could not focus on the words anymore. Though as I would fall asleep I was finding I was still in the story in my mind. I would feel at different times when I was asleep that I was standing with Susie watching what she was until I fell into a deep sleep.

I found Alice Sebold’s style of writing very easy to get caught up in, entwined in with the story. Her balance of writing with all the characters is amazing, and the pace that she holds from fast to slow and all the in between are stunning. As an aspiring writer myself I would love to be able to have the ability to write with such elegance, richness and emotion on so many levels of the characters and settings. Alice’s balance of going between past and present tense is immaculate and easy to follow. I love how Alice narrates the story from Susie Salmon from the start, and after her murder. The way it follows herself, her parents, siblings, friends, neighbours and even her murderer. I would recommend to anyone from the age of 14 and upwards to read this beautifully written novel on such a story that is dark, yet with such bright light as well within the pages.

Alice Sebold is an American writer and bestselling author of the book The Lovely Bones, hailed as the most successful debut novel since Gone With the Wind.

On reading Alice Sebold’s bio, she, herself surviving being raped in 1980 in New York while attending University, to go through a life of a dysfunctional family, rape and drugs, to come out the other side to be a Number One Bestseller on debut and to find true love and, she seems to have moved on from such a dark part of her own life to one filled with hope and dreams.
http://www.biography.com/people/alice-sebold-20702765

I am looking forward to reading her Memoir ‘Lucky’ and her second novel ‘The Almost Moon’ in the future. I can not say it enough, if you have not read this amazing book, ‘The Lovely Bones’ please do!

Until next time, have a great day…

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold.

Leave a Reply

